A person injured in a traffic accident may, when the conditions are met, claim treatment and care costs, loss of earnings during the period of inability to work, losses arising from permanent loss of working capacity, and non-pecuniary damages. The absence of a permanent impairment does not remove all rights to compensation. Equally, a percentage stated in a medical report does not mean that a fixed amount will be paid by the insurer corresponding to that percentage. The nature of the loss, its connection with the accident, its temporary and permanent effects, fault, income and insurance coverage are assessed together. [1]–[3]
The central question in an injury traffic accident file is not only "what is the impairment rate?" It must also be determined between which dates the person could not work, which daily tasks required help, how long care was needed, and which losses remain after recovery. This guide explains how these distinctions are reflected in the medical report, the insurance claim and the litigation request.
Which compensation claims may be made after an injury in a traffic accident?
Article 54 of the Turkish Code of Obligations (TBK) does not limit bodily injury to hospital bills. Loss of earnings, reduced working capacity and the impairment of economic future are separate areas of assessment. Care needs are also examined as part of the material loss caused by the injury. Each item may be included in the same claim; however, the same loss cannot be calculated a second time under two different names. [1]
| Claim | Loss examined | Basic evidence or finding |
|---|---|---|
| Treatment costs | Necessary treatment, rehabilitation, devices and related expenses | Treatment records, statement of necessity, invoices |
| Temporary incapacity to work | Inability to work during the recovery period and the resulting loss | Health assessment showing the period, income and payment records |
| Permanent incapacity to work | Permanent loss of working or physical capacity caused by the accident | Board report under the applicable regulation, income and actuarial calculation |
| Caregiver costs | Temporary or permanent need for help and care | Medical report describing the duration, intensity and nature of the care |
| Impairment of economic future | Concrete adverse effect on entry into a profession, career progression or earning opportunities | Documents on education, profession and loss of function |
| Non-pecuniary damages | Moral harm caused to the person by the injury to bodily integrity | Nature of the injury, treatment process and circumstances of the event |
Permanent scars, fractures, surgery or psychiatric effects may be important under more than one of these headings. However, there is no automatic, separate and fixed "fracture compensation" or "surgery compensation" tariff for each of them. The amount claimed should be linked to the loss proved.
Who may claim compensation, and from whom may it be claimed?
The injured person's right and the position of relatives
Being a driver, passenger, pedestrian, cyclist or motorcyclist does not by itself determine the right to claim. The occurrence of the accident, the ground of liability and the fault of the injured person are examined. The primary holder of the right to claim pecuniary compensation for bodily injury is the injured person. The rights of children are pursued through their legal representatives; where there is a conflict of representation, a separate assessment is required.
A relative's care of the injured person does not automatically convert the injured person's compensation into a claim belonging to the relative. Caregiver costs and the relative's own loss of earnings are not the same claim. Where a relative asserts a right of their own, the legal basis and the loss must be shown. In the case of serious bodily injury, the relatives' right to non-pecuniary damages may also arise separately under Article 56 of the TBK. [1]
Driver, operator, insurer and the Guarantee Account
The liability of an at-fault driver in tort, the liability of the operator under Article 85 and following of the Highway Traffic Law No. 2918 (KTK), and the insurer's obligation to indemnify rest on different legal foundations. Whether the owner of a vehicle is to be regarded as its operator is assessed by reference to evidence of actual control and of the operating relationship. Where there is more than one liable party, the provisions on joint and several liability may become important; the insurer's debt is limited by the scope of coverage and any applicable limits. [1]–[3]
The insurance limit is not the ceiling on the injured person's total loss. For loss that falls outside the coverage or exceeds the limit, a claim against other liable persons may be considered. Where the vehicle that caused the accident was uninsured or cannot be identified, the Guarantee Account may, under the statutory conditions, be an avenue for claims for bodily injury. The scope of the Guarantee Account is not an unlimited guarantee covering all losses and every claimant. [2, 3, 12]
In a single-vehicle accident, the injury to the fully at-fault driver and the loss of a passenger in the same vehicle are separate matters. The compulsory motor liability policy of the driver's own vehicle should not be treated as a general personal accident policy for the driver. Any personal accident and other supplementary policies are examined separately.
How is compensation for temporary incapacity to work determined?
The rest report and the period on which compensation is based may differ
Temporary incapacity to work is the assessment of the inability of the person to work during the recovery period after the injury. The length of hospital stay, the rest period, the total duration of treatment and the period of inability to work used for the compensation calculation do not coincide in every file. Continuing outpatient check-ups does not by itself show that the person was entirely unable to work throughout that period.
The report should explain the nature of the injury, the operations, the rehabilitation, the person's work and the medical course of recovery. The insurer should not be satisfied with saying "the report is long", and the injured person should not be satisfied with saying "I could not work". When it is specified which tasks could not be performed, for what reasons, and on what date they could again be performed, the calculation becomes verifiable. The end of the temporary period and the start of the permanent period should be shown separately so that overlapping days are not counted twice. [1, 3]
How is income proved for employees and the self-employed?
For an employee, the payslip, bank payments, the SGK employment record, employer records and any regular additional earnings documentation are examined together. Where wages continued to be paid, it is examined which earnings were actually lost. It is not appropriate to claim the same wage loss both in the payment received from the employer and again in the compensation calculation; the legal nature of the payment and the conditions for offsetting it are assessed separately.
For the self-employed, the turnover of the business is not personal income in itself. Tax records, professional activity, expenses, contracts and whether the work was carried out by someone else are important. An allegation of unrecorded or underreported income must be supported not only by an oral figure but by lawful evidence and, where necessary, research into comparable earnings.
Why a separate assessment is required for a person who does not work, and for a child
It cannot be said that a person who does not work has no rights to compensation for bodily injury. However, a claim for temporary loss of earnings and a claim that more effort is required in daily life are not the same legal issue. The age, working status, household tasks carried out and the basis of the claim must be explained.
In the decision of the Civil Chamber 4 of the Court of Cassation (Yargıtay 4. Hukuk Dairesi) dated May 21, 2025, E.2022/13849, K.2025/8226, a rejection was upheld by majority on the ground that the child, aged four at the date of the accident, had no permanent functional loss and that no temporary incapacity to work loss had arisen. The statement by a member who argued that a non-working person may claim compensation for additional physical effort in the temporary period is a dissenting opinion. The text therefore cannot be used as if it were a majority decision accepting that temporary incapacity compensation is payable to all children. The treatment and care costs of the child and any permanent losses continue to be examined on their own terms. [6]
Permanent incapacity to work and compensation for impairment
Why the impairment rate alone does not show an amount
Permanent incapacity to work concerns the economic consequences of a loss that continues after recovery. Two persons with the same rating may differ in age, profession, income, remaining working and life expectancy, fault and earlier payments. For this reason, a definite compensation figure cannot be stated from the percentage in the report alone.
Compensation for a traffic accident is not the same institution as the disability pension under the Social Security system. The rating or insurance conditions relevant to social security rights cannot be transferred as an automatic threshold for traffic compensation. No general rule may be established that "compensation cannot be obtained below 40 per cent". The reverse also applies: a high-rated report prepared for social rights does not prove that the whole rating is caused by the traffic accident. [1, 4]
Non-reduction of wages, domestic labor and retirement
That a person continues to receive the same salary does not by itself show that a permanent loss of function has had no economic consequence. Greater physical effort to maintain the same job, inability to move to other work, and lasting difficulties in daily life must be assessed separately. On the other hand, a permanent loss that has not been medically determined cannot be converted into a monetary claim by general statements alone.
For persons who perform domestic work, retirees and students, the approach "no payslip, no loss" is not sufficient. The assessment is built on the person's actual life and the loss connected with the accident. The assumption of future income for a child should be supported by education and career-entry data; the actual work of a retiree must be distinguished from the period when the retiree did not work. A single line calculation that starts and ends at the same age for everyone does not explain the features of the file. [1]
Psychiatric effects and the impairment of economic future
Bodily injury is not limited to visible orthopedic losses. Psychiatric disorders, neurological findings and other functional losses connected with the accident should be assessed by the relevant medical specialties. A temporary distress is not treated as the same thing as a medically defined condition that affects functioning.
Where a permanent scar or functional loss concretely affects the person's admission to a profession, advancement or economic options, the impairment of economic future may be separately argued. This claim cannot be left to an abstract statement that "my future has been affected"; it must also be examined whether the same adverse effect has already been compensated in the calculation of permanent incapacity to work. [1, 5]
How is an impairment report obtained and reviewed?
The purpose of the report and the applicable regulation must be determined
A general forensic examination report in a criminal investigation, a sick-leave certificate, a disability report and an impairment assessment for the purpose of compensation each answer different questions. A document that determines whether an injury can be remedied by simple medical treatment does not always explain permanent loss of working capacity.
For adults, the Regulation on Disability Assessment of Adults (Erişkinler İçin Engellilik Değerlendirmesi Hakkında Yönetmelik) of February 20, 2019 provides for a general disability assessment and a report on the condition caused by the accident and injury. The scope of the Regulation is not the same as the SGK's assessment of permanent incapacity to work and disability pension. Special assessment is required for children, in a manner appropriate to their age and the purpose of the report. The year of the accident, the legal purpose of the report and the transitional provisions are also important. [3]–[5]
Each new application should not assume that the most recent report is automatically correct. The competent body, the relevant specialties, the examination, the tests and the applicable regulation are checked together. Statements of the kind "only the report of this institution is valid", which disregard the authorization structure of the legislation, may also be misleading.
Which questions must the report answer?
- Which injuries and functional losses the accident caused.
- Whether a permanent loss exists; if so, its rating, its basis and the method of assessment.
- The period of temporary incapacity to work and the medical findings on which that period is based.
- Whether caregiving is needed; the duration and intensity of temporary or permanent care.
- Previous illnesses, earlier injuries and the effect of the accident on them.
- Whether treatment continues, and any need for a check-up or re-assessment.
A pre-existing illness cannot be attributed to the accident; however, the claim that the accident worsened the earlier condition cannot be excluded without examination either. Comparing earlier records with new findings is decisive, particularly in files where there was an earlier injury to the same organ or region. Where treatment has not been completed, the determination of temporary needs should be carried out separately from the finalization of the permanent rate. [4, 5]
Conflicting reports and periods for objection
In its decision of the Civil Chamber 4 of the Court of Cassation dated July 8, 2025, E.2025/4798, K.2025/11574, attention was drawn to the conflict between reports giving a rate of 36 per cent and 24 per cent for the same traffic accident. A new examination was held to be required, with the participation of the relevant medical specialties, evaluating all the treatment records and the earlier reports. The problem shown by that decision is that the difference between the reports must be medically explained before a choice is made between a higher or a lower rate. [5]
An objection to an administrative health board report and an objection to a court expert report are separate matters. Article 12 of the Regulation on Disability Assessment of Adults provides for an individual objection within 30 days from delivery of the report, and a route through the provincial health directorate. In court, an objection to an expert report under HMK Article 281 is, as a rule, to be made within two weeks of notification. Procedures and periods notified in arbitration must also be observed. The finality of a report in the administrative process is not the same as the court's power to assess evidence. [4, 10]
Under what conditions are caregiver costs claimed?
The need for care, its duration and intensity must be proved
Caregiver costs arise from the injured person's need for another person's help in order to meet daily needs. Help may be required for tasks such as dressing, personal hygiene, movement, eating, or supervision medically necessary. Not every injury requires a full-time carer; however, it cannot be assumed that the need for care is limited only to days spent in hospital.
Temporary care and permanent care must be determined separately. In a case where intensive help is needed during the first weeks and partial help is sufficient afterwards, the position will change. A care report that is clear about the period, daily needs and nature of the care prevents the unjustified application of the same fee to the entire period. The cost of a case requiring professional nursing services may differ from that of a case where family assistance is sufficient. [1, 3]
Hypothetically, the same victim might have a 90-day period of incapacity to work but need care only for the first 20 days, with no permanent loss. In such a table, it is wrong both to claim caregiver costs automatically over 90 days and to delete all claims on the ground that there is no permanent impairment. Each period must be explained by its own medical basis; this example is not a medical duration recommendation for any particular injury.
Does a family member providing free care remove the right?
Where the spouse, mother or another relative takes on the care, the economic value of the need for care is not automatically reduced to zero. The assessment is made on the basis of the scope of the help that is medically necessary. Where a paid carer has been engaged, the contract and the payments are presented; where family care is given, the tasks actually performed, the care periods, health records and, where necessary, witness statements become important.
In its decision dated April 9, 2025, E.2025/237, K.2025/5386, the Civil Chamber 10 of the Court of Cassation (Yargıtay 10. Hukuk Dairesi) held that a 20 per cent reduction made on the ground of family care in respect of caregiver costs was contrary to Article 55 of the TBK. That decision concerns a work accident file; it must not be presented as a traffic accident decision. It is relevant to the common principle for calculating bodily injury. The result is not that every amount requested is accepted without proof of the duration of care or its real cost; the distinction is between a reduction made without justification on the ground of family solidarity and the correct calculation of the loss. [7]
Caregiver costs are different from the injured person's loss of income. Although both may arise for the same period, the same care service must not be written into the treatment invoices and again in a separate caregiver calculation.
The distinction between treatment costs, SGK and traffic insurance
Health services paid by the SGK do not cover all bodily losses
Health service costs within the scope of Article 98 of the Highway Traffic Law No. 2918 (KTK) fall, under the procedures and principles set out in the law, within the responsibility of the SGK. This provision does not mean that all the injured person's care and earnings losses are paid by the SGK. Hospital services, transport connected with treatment, prostheses, rehabilitation, temporary incapacity to work and care needs are examined separately. [2, 3]
The submission of an invoice does not by itself make every expense mandatory or connected with the accident. Likewise, the absence of a document does not automatically result in a proven mandatory expense not being examined at all. The necessity of the expense, its amount, the date on which it was incurred and whether it was paid by another institution are investigated; where necessary, the assessment is made within the framework of Article 50 of the TBK. [1]
Which coverage is affected by the 2026 change to the general conditions?
The General Conditions of the compulsory traffic insurance, including the amendments of June 12, 2026, regulate temporary and permanent incapacity to work under the bodily injury coverage, and reasonable necessary permanent caregiver costs under the health expenses coverage. The end of the insurer's and the Guarantee Account's liability for expenses paid by the SGK under Article 98 of the KTK is not a general ground for refusal in respect of all other items. [3]
The amendment entered into force on July 1, 2026. Article C.11 of the General Conditions applies the contracts concluded after the amendments came into force. For this reason, the date of the accident and the date on which the policy was concluded must be examined together, and the new classification must not be applied automatically to all earlier policies. The general conditions are also interpreted in accordance with the law and the relevant judicial review.
The Court of Cassation (Yargıtay) 4th Civil Chamber decision of November 7, 2022, E.2021/14687, K.2022/13926 emphasized that permanent incapacity to work and permanent care costs are separate heads of loss in an accident dated 2007. It was accepted that, under the policy and general conditions in that case, care costs should be assessed under the treatment coverage. The concrete policy examination of this older decision cannot be presented as a fixed limit rule applicable to all periods. [8]
Income, fault and earlier payments in the calculation of compensation
The medical report explains the health dimension of the loss; the actuarial review explains its monetary consequences. In the actuarial calculation, income, periods, the life table, the method of calculation, fault, earlier payments and applicable coverage must be shown separately. A result produced by a calculation tool is not a definite claim until these data have been verified.
The conduct of the injured person that contributed to the accident or to the increase of the loss may be considered for a reduction. Where it is alleged that a seat belt or helmet was not used, the concrete effect of that conduct on the injury must be investigated. Applying the same percentage of reduction to every file does not replace the investigation of fault and causation. The insurer's right of recourse against its insured, and the insurer's defense against a direct claim by the injured person, must also be kept separate. [1, 2]
SGK payments or advances received from the insurer must not be deducted in a lump sum and without reasons. The loss for which the payment was made, its recoverability, the purpose of performance and the applicable offset rule must be determined. Article 55 of the TBK contains special provisions on social security payments that are partly or wholly not recoverable and on payments that do not have a performance purpose. [1]
The changed rule on interest and offset in 2026
The provisions added to Article 55 of the TBK by Law No. 7589 provide different starting points for interest on compensation for losses of earning capacity, in periods where earnings are and are not known. The same amendment provides for the proportional offset, on the compensation at the date of payment, of payments made for the purpose of performance until the investigation begins. Under the transitional article, the new provision applies to events occurring after its entry into force; the earlier provisions continue to apply to accidents occurring before it. [9]
This distinction does not mean that the interest on all loss items and all debtors is started from a single date. In particular, the content of the application to the insurer and the date of default must be assessed separately. For treatment and caregiver costs, instead of applying the new provision on loss of earning capacity without reasons, the legal nature of the claim must be determined.
Insurance claim, arbitration and the litigation process
Which documents should be in the claim file?
The claim should present, in a connected manner, the accident report and existing investigation information; hospital, operation and rehabilitation records; a suitable health board report; income documents; care and treatment expenses; earlier payments and policy information. Where there is a representative, the power of attorney or legal representation documents are added. Providing the insurer with the entire personal health history of the file without limit is not the same as sharing the records relating to the request and its assessment; these must be sent through secure channels.
Temporary incapacity to work, permanent incapacity to work and caregiver costs must be stated separately in the claim. The date and contents of the delivery of the file should be kept in a verifiable form. Demanding final payment on an incomplete report, as well as holding back all documents and deadlines on the ground that the permanent rating has not yet been determined, may both create problems. [2, 3]
The difference between fifteen days and eight working days
Under Article 97 of the KTK, a written claim must first be made to the traffic insurer. If the insurer does not reply in writing within 15 days, or if a dispute arises concerning the claim because of the reply, litigation or insurance arbitration under suitable conditions may be considered. The period here is 15 calendar days for traffic insurance. The payment period of eight working days that follows the submission of the required documents is a different provision; the two periods must not be used in place of each other. [2, 3, 11]
Insurance arbitration is for insurance disputes; it is not assumed that all claims against the driver and operator will be resolved in arbitration with the same application. For monetary claims of a commercial nature, the condition of mediation as a condition precedent to litigation is assessed separately from the claim to the insurer. Only for a tort action brought against the driver and operator, in which the insurer is a party, the competent court may be different. Where there is a carriage or employment relationship, the special rules on jurisdiction must also be examined. [2, 10, 11]
The type of action and the increase of the claim must be chosen under the current rule
The Law No. 7589 published on July 31, 2026 repealed Article 107 of the Code of Civil Procedure No. 6100 (HMK) and preserved the application of the former provision to actions brought before it. The provision added to Article 109 of the HMK allows a partial action to be increased once, up to the end of the examination, and provides that, as regards the increased part, the limitation period is deemed interrupted on the date of the action. For this reason, the presence of the phrase "action for an uncertain claim" in an old decision does not show that the same procedure can be applied verbatim to a new action. [9]
Court costs, expert fees, application fees, lawyer's fees and the limits of appeal must be checked against the date of the application. Where there is an economic need, the conditions for a temporary payment under Article 76 of the TBK, and where necessary preservation of evidence and other temporary protections, may be assessed separately. A temporary payment is not an automatic advance. Recovery and enforcement after judgment are also part of the management of the file. [1, 10]
Limitation, release and matters to note in the criminal file
Under Article 109 of the KTK, for material losses the limitation period is two years from the date on which the loss and the person liable for compensation were learned of, and as a rule ten years from the date of the accident. Where the act constitutes an offence and the criminal law provides a longer limitation period, that period is also assessed. It is not correct to say that obtaining an impairment report restarts the limitation period in every file. The development of the loss, the date of learning and earlier records must be examined concretely. [2]
It should not be assumed that continuing correspondence with the insurer, or continuing treatment, automatically suspends all periods. While the examination of fault or the occurrence of the event in the criminal file continues, the necessary steps for compensation may be taken separately. Under Article 74 of the TBK, the assessment by the civil judge and the effect of the criminal judgment are distinct; it is not expected that the criminal file will always be concluded before the civil claim proceeds. [1]
Before accepting a payment offer, it should be examined which losses were taken into account, which periods were left out and the scope of any release or settlement document to be signed. Article 111 of the KTK provides for a two-year right of annulment from the date of agreement where the compensation agreed is clearly insufficient or excessive. This does not mean that every release is invalid automatically. The effect of a settlement reached in court, of a waiver and of a mediation agreement must be assessed separately. [2, 10]
Conclusion
An effective compensation claim in an injury traffic accident is based on linking each head of loss to the correct report, the correct period and the correct liable party. The period of temporary incapacity to work and the need for care matter as much as the permanent rating; daily life and professional effects matter as much as income; the deadlines for application and objection matter as much as the calculation.
The first step is to arrange health and income documents; the next step is to determine which questions the report has not answered. The following step is to match each head with insurance coverage and liability provisions. A separate examination of the accident, policy and litigation dates has become necessary, particularly after the 2026 amendments. The approach that prevents loss of rights is not to focus only on a high impairment rate, but to convert all provable consequences of the injury into a complete claim.
Frequently Asked Questions
If my impairment rating is zero per cent, can I not receive compensation?
The absence of a permanent loss does not by itself remove proven treatment, care, temporary loss and non-pecuniary damages claims. Each head is assessed according to its own conditions.
Is an impairment of at least 40 per cent required for compensation?
For traffic accident compensation, there is no such general threshold. Social assistance or monthly benefit conditions must not be confused with compensation for bodily injury; the loss connected with the accident and the actual loss are decisive.
Can a person who does not work, or who provides domestic labor, claim compensation?
Yes. The absence of an employment record does not remove all rights for bodily injury. However, temporary loss of earnings, permanent loss of function and care needs are assessed separately; the same result cannot be promised to every person.
If my mother or my spouse provides my care, can caregiver costs be claimed?
A claim for family care does not automatically disappear. The duration and scope of the care medically required must be shown; the effect of free family help must be separated from the determination of the real cost of care.
Can an insurance company be liable for the loss of temporary incapacity to work?
Yes. The current General Conditions regulate this item under the bodily injury coverage. The applicable policy period, fault, proof and limits are examined separately; the claim cannot be rejected by treating it as belonging to the SGK.
If two health reports give different impairment ratings, which one is valid?
Neither is chosen merely by looking at its date or its rating. Authority, the applicable regulation, the medical specialties, the examination and the medical findings are compared; the conflict must be resolved through a reasoned examination.
Can caregiver costs and compensation for incapacity to work be claimed together?
Yes, to the extent that they compensate different losses. The need for care and the period of inability to work are proved separately, and the same expense is prevented from being calculated twice.
I have received a payment from the insurer; can I claim the part that remains unpaid?
Additional claims may be assessed by examining the adequacy and scope of the payment and the effect of any release or settlement document. An earlier payment is taken into account through the appropriate offset rule; the periods for annulment of the agreement are also monitored separately.
Sources and legal bases
[1] Turkish Code of Obligations No. 6098 (Türk Borçlar Kanunu), in particular Arts. 49–56, 74 and 76. Mevzuat Bilgi Sistemi; for the basic provisions, consolidated text of the Turkish Bar Association (TSB). For the 2026 amendment of Article 55, see [9].
[2] Highway Traffic Law No. 2918 (Karayolları Trafik Kanunu), in particular Arts. 85–88, 91, 95–99 and 109–111. Mevzuat Bilgi Sistemi; consolidated text of the TSB.
[3] General Conditions of the Compulsory Motor Vehicle Liability Insurance (Karayolları Motorlu Araçlar Zorunlu Mali Sorumluluk Sigortası Genel Şartları), including the amendments published in Official Gazette No. 33278 of June 12, 2026, TSB text. In particular A.2, A.5, A.6, B.2 and C.11; date of entry into force of the amendments July 1, 2026.
[4] Regulation on Disability Assessment of Adults (Erişkinler İçin Engellilik Değerlendirmesi Hakkında Yönetmelik), Official Gazette No. 30692 of February 20, 2019; in particular Arts. 2 and 6–12. Published text within the Ministry of Health.
[5] Court of Cassation, Civil Chamber 4 (Yargıtay 4. Hukuk Dairesi), July 8, 2025, E.2025/4798, K.2025/11574; in particular paragraph 2/a of the evaluation section and the operative part. Full text of the decision (account login may be required).
[6] Court of Cassation, Civil Chamber 4 (Yargıtay 4. Hukuk Dairesi), May 21, 2025, E.2022/13849, K.2025/8226; majority decision and dissenting opinion assessed separately. Full text of the decision (account login may be required).
[7] Court of Cassation, Civil Chamber 10 (Yargıtay 10. Hukuk Dairesi), April 9, 2025, E.2025/237, K.2025/5386; assessment of a reduction of caregiver costs in a work accident on the ground of family solidarity. Full text of the decision (account login may be required).
[8] Court of Cassation, Civil Chamber 4 (Yargıtay 4. Hukuk Dairesi), November 7, 2022, E.2021/14687, K.2022/13926; examination of permanent care costs under a separate coverage in an accident dated 2007. Full text of the decision (account login may be required).
[9] Law No. 7589 on Amendments to Certain Laws for the Effective and Efficient Functioning of Justice; accepted July 16, 2026, Official Gazette July 31, 2026, No. 33326. In particular Arts. 18–20, provisional Art. 1/9–10 and Art. 26. Turkish Grand National Assembly law record; adopted text.
[10] Code of Civil Procedure No. 6100 (Hukuk Muhakemeleri Kanunu), in particular Arts. 2, 6, 16, 109, 266 and 281; Turkish Commercial Code No. 6102 (Türk Ticaret Kanunu), Arts. 4, 5 and 5/A. UYAP Legislation for HMK; UYAP Legislation for TTK. For the 2026 amendments to HMK Arts. 107 and 109, see [9].
[11] Insurance Arbitration Commission (Sigorta Tahkim Komisyonu), How to apply?. Prior application to the insurer, the 15-day period in traffic insurance, and explanations on the scope of arbitration.
[12] Insurance Law No. 5684 (Sigortacılık Kanunu), Art. 14, and the Guarantee Account (Güvence Hesabı), frequently asked questions. Scope and exceptions to bodily injury caused by uninsured or unidentified vehicles.